My “Brand” Belongs To Me. Not You.

4 Aug

Maybe I’m wrong. Maybe I sound selfish, but my seven-letter name “Chakara” is mean’t for me to put my own personal touches on it. “Chakara” has formed into a brand, not just a person. People lately have been so bothered by “Chakara” and what “Chakara” chooses to do with her brand, ideas, and or projects. But what they don’t understand is that in order for me to even create a brand, I had to believe in it.

I can’t believe in something that is not truly “Chakara”. To be completely honest, I built a name for myself, not in just North Carolina, but along the east coast period, with social networking sites. I planted my seeds in social network sites, and then made physical connection with my network via signings and events. That worked for me. I’m thankful for that, but whether folks want to understand it or not, my brand will be what I want it to be.

When I was up every night until 3am for 8 months, trying desperately to complete a novel on time, none of the “so opinionated” were present. None  of these naysayers were there to push me forward for progress. I’m not understanding where they’re coming from now. It’s weird to me. People waste time putting irrelevant opinions in places that don’t matter.

I work too hard everyday. I’ve worked too hard in my past, to take the opinions of people who have nothing positive to add, only negative.

MY BRAND BELONGS TO ME.

There is simply nothing anyone can do about that.

That’s my blog rant for today.

My advice to you?

At the end of everything else, be you. Its the most peaceful way to carry on with life. What makes the brand is the believer behind it. If you dont fully believe yourself, then others will not.

-Chakara

2 Responses to “My “Brand” Belongs To Me. Not You.”

  1. takesha muse March 15, 2012 at 5:46 pm #

    I belive what you saying is truly the truth . I’ve been trying to write a book for years and never did for the fear if I don’t write what folks what to hear or know which would be lies I would never make it .thamks for letting me know you can keep it real and do well

    • chakaraconyers March 26, 2012 at 2:18 pm #

      Yes you can! Remember the best artists are those who stay true to who they are!!! xoxo Chakara

Leave a Reply

