When A Higher Power Speaks, I Listen.

2 Aug

In 2009 I poured my heart out into a novel, aiming to educate at-risk African American women on this monstorous thing called HIV. After all, coming from low income housing and a history full of wrong doings, that was the least I could do, with the blessing of having a position in Wake County’s Public Health HIV/STD division. I mean the faces who poured into the office I clocked in every morning at 9 a.m. were familiar faces;  old neighborhood faces.

Somewhere along the line, people weren’t listening. Somewhere along the line, I felt like my community had missed very VITAL health education, and the only way that I could pull in attention to begin spreading such info, was to publish a novel. I produced Life’s Gamble on World AIDS Day of 2009. There was no hesitation. I printed out a calendar from Word, and gave myself 8 months to complete my first novel. I finished it in 10, and I’ve been thanking God every since.

I published Hard Dreams in 2010, not even six months after my last book release. The support from my homebase, my hood, ignited my energy to complete my second novel (in which I started in November 2009). College has been my priority for the past 2 years, but its time to re-release the hard copies of both of my books in the place where it all started, NC.

Of course a few other book stores will recieve my books as well, along the East Coast, but the support I’ve recieved from NC is tremendous. I have a few signings coming up at Wake County libraries this fall, and I’m also planning to schedule some with DURHAM, ORANGE, and MECKLENBURG counties. My signings are my stories. You should come out.

Interested in making comission based sales off of selling either or my novels? Please email me now authorchakara@gmail.com

Do you have a friend or close family member in prison who would love personally autographed copy of either book sent to them for just $15.00 no shipping? Please email me. Offer ends August 15th 2011 authorchakara@gmail.com

Would you like to have me as a guest at your next women’s group, book club, or women’s organization? Please email me. authorchakara@gmail.com

LAST BUT NOT LEAST

If you’d like to pre-order both copies of “Life’s Gamble” and “Hard Dreams” for just $25.00 FREE SHIPPING and get your books earlier than Sept 11. EMAIL ME now for payment instructions. authorchakara@gmail.com

Stay tuned as I keep you updated daily on Chakara’s Book World. Its a hard knock life, but when a higher power talks to me, I LISTEN.

Have a great day!!

One Response to “When A Higher Power Speaks, I Listen.”

  1. Mr WordPress August 2, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

